Roma, Roma, Roma.

I can honestly say I have never been to a city as beautiful as Rome. From the cobblestone streets to the hustle and bustle of Via Del Corso, they really aren’t lying when they tell you that Rome was not built in a day. It is a city enriched with history and every corner you turn there is something more beautiful to look at that the one before.

IMG_0720.JPG

We stayed in the centre of Rome in Via Del Corso in the Corso Boutique Hotel at the end of October. I would highly recommend this hotel to any couple looking for a few days away.

IMG_0881From the outside you wouldn’t even know a hotel was present but, inside you’ll find luxury and elegance. The rooms are modern and spacious and you have a beautiful bath/jacuzzi in your room for relaxing in after exploring the crazy streets of Rome. The staff are polite and so helpful. I would genuinely go back to Rome just for this hotel. We couldn’t have picked a better hotel for our 4 days in Rome as it was close to everything we wanted to see. We were a 5 minute walk from both the Spanish Steps and The Trevi Fountain.

IMG_0486The first thing I wanted to see was The Fontana Di Trevi and it was even more breathtaking in person than it is in photos. I expected it to be in some open space almost like St Peters but, it was tucked away down a little cobbled street in a small square surrounded by Gelato shops and cafes. We obviously did the ritual in which you kiss a coin and throw it behind your shoulder into the Fountain in hopes that someday you will return to Rome. For a fountain it is an incredibly special place that I don’t think you would ever get sick of looking at.

IMG_0439.JPG

On the same day we visited the Spanish Steps and I did not realise there were so many of them! I expected a few steps not what felt like a million. It was a beautiful place with a great buzz surrounded by tourists and locals alike. You can tell the Italians are proud of their architecture and are keen to keep it the beautiful Eternal City that it is…we even got told off for eating Gelato on the steps! While i’m on the subject of Gelato…

WOW! I have never tasted something so good. ever. I even had it for breakfast, lunch and dessert! I think we ate in the wrong places in Rome. Everyone I speak to tells me how much they loved the food and we just didn’t have that experience. We mostly ate in restaurants around the famous monuments which I’ve now been told is a bad idea and so the next time we go, we will be venturing out and into the more authentic restaurants.

Screen Shot 2017-07-21 at 15.12.37

We spent a full day in Vatican City at St Peters Basilica. Isn’t it just the most beautiful church in the world?! While we were there mass was being said and the singing was so angelic and amazing. We visited the Papal Tombs and learned about the past and present Popes.

I was super excited the whole time we were away to go to the Colosseum. I remember watching The Lizzie Maguire movie when I was younger and thinking it looked so so cool  (that movie was the main reason I wanted to go to Rome). I just don’t understand how they built it. It is amazing. HOW?! They are still restoring parts of it but you can tell which parts are original. We paid for a guided tour because it gets you in quicker but left because we don’t really want to listen to them as we get a little bored and did our own thing. It is so easy to imagine the history and things that happened in the Colosseum and it really is a place you need to visit as some stage in your life.

 

Overall we really, really enjoyed Rome and this is just a few things we got up to. It really is an enticing city full of culture, history and breathtaking architecture.

Until next time,

Elisha.

2 thoughts on “Roma, Roma, Roma.”

Leave a comment